Sarah Tilman Sportsmanship Award

Sportsmanship is an integral component to a successful competition. As such, each year, the Chesapeake Bay Bowl rewards good team sportsmanship by presenting the Sarah L. Tilman Sportsmanship Award.

Named for Sarah Tilman, a much-loved Chesapeake Bay Bowl coach from Woodrow Wilson High School in Washington, D.C., who passed away in 2009 from the flu—just two days before the 2009 Chesapeake Bay Bowl. Sarah was driven to help others, and chose a career in education because she believed all students should have teachers like those that inspired her.

This award is voted on by the Chesapeake Bay Bowl volunteers, and is presented to the team that was the most respectful to the volunteers and other teams, and was gracious in winning as well as losing during the competition.

Past award winners:
2009: North Hagerstown High School
2014: Not awarded
2015: Newark Charter High School
2017: State College Area High School Team B
2018: Lower Dauphin High School



Print Friendly, PDF & Email